This is the way… walk in it.

Have you been lost? What is it like to wander around not knowing where to go? Not good, is it? It’s worse when you’re rushing for time. I often have frustrating dreams of missing exams because I could not find the right room.

Problems are part of reality of life. What worries me is I might not find the right solution to resolve them. Christians are not exempted from sufferings and problems. In fact, the Bible teaches that God allows the good and the bad to happen in the life of His children (Job 1:21b, 2:10; Isa 30:20).  So what to do? We are encouraged to pray – to cry for help to our gracious God. Our assurance as Christians is that God hears. He listens to what we have to say. How do we know? We know when our ears hear the voice speaks: This is the way. Walk in it.

Isaiah 30

19 People of Zion, who live in Jerusalem, you will weep no more. How gracious he will be when you cry for help! As soon as he hears, he will answer you. 20 Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them. 21 Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

pathway-5

Even as the Lord gives bread of adversity and water of affliction, He opens our eyes to see these teachers of life. I learned and am learning that trials in life are great teachers for living. In sickness, I realised all the more the value of health, the importance of taking care of my body. I also learn acceptance – that our physical body has limitations. No matter how good we take care of it, mortality is a reality. In death, I treasure the good memories of life. After my mom passed away, I cope with grief remembering the good times I had with her. I live out her legacy – to be brave and strong in adversity, to pray for my family, to be a good follower of Jesus. My father is frail and sick. He is often asleep. I missed the times when I talked with him. I recall his ‘Amen’ when I prayed with him. I will not forget when he told me to tell him my cares and the time when he said he prays for me. What a comfort and joy it is for me to see his toothless smile in his sleep. These special moments are not to be taken for granted.

Even when the way is long and winding, with many sharp turns and rough corners, whether we turn to the right or to the left, what a comfort it is to hear the Voice behind urging us on: This way, here you go.

This Voice… showing the way… do you hear it? How sure are you it is the right voice?

Read the Bible and get to know the Way.

Leave a Reply

