Be Happy… Give joy, not kill joy…

KJ: this is a Pinoy (Filipino culture) expression. We used to say: Do not be a KJ. KJ is kill-joy. I’ve always thought that of all traits that i want people to associate with me, being funny is near the top of the list. I certainly do not like to be a KJ – especially to my children.

KJ people are shunned. Who wants to be friends with KJs? They are pictured as ‘square’ and ‘rigid’ – judgemental, all knowing. They find fault in everyone and everything. They are not happy when people are happy.

pessimism-vs-optimism-350x262

The Bible teaches us to rejoice with those who rejoice. This is good advice – I feel good when my friends and family are happy. So instead of being a KJ, give joy. Find ways to make the people around you smile. There is a Chinese saying: 助人为快乐之本. Helping others is an investment in joy.

One level up: I am learning that helping others even and especially when I do not feel so good myself – helps to get me out of my misery. God is timely. He sends me people to help just when I think I need help. He sends me friends to comfort just when I needed comfort. Helping others helps me to stop thinking about the issues that are bothering me. It opens my eyes that there are people facing greater challenges than I am.

Leave a Reply

