Be happy, content and grateful

I observe that I am often not happy when I think ‘the grass is greener on the other side of the fence.’ This thought has implications.

Taking things for granted.

When i start looking for/at things I do not have, it means that I am not paying attention to the things that I do have. To be happy, sing: Count my blessings, name them one by one. Living a joyful life is about having the right perspective. If I have a half glass of water, I should be thankful that the glass is half-full and not complain about it being half-empty. I do not have a son but I have three wonderful daughters. A thankful person makes a happy person.

Greed.

ula3wThe Bible teaches us that godliness with contentment is great gain. (1 Tim 6:6) Paul pointed out to Timothy: For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. (1 Tim 6:10) Being contented brings peace. There is rest in finding satisfaction in life. It is liberating to stop striving, to stop wanting, to stop burning ourselves out in the pursuit of endless wants and needs for more material comfort, for more status, for more fame, for more power, for more affirmation. To free ourselves from greed – we need to know that we came into this world in our birthday suit and the most we can take away from this world can be contained in a box or an urn. A contented person is a happy person

Leave a Reply

