Be happy, think happy.

Remember happy times (Past)

I don’t know if it’s an ageing thing. I think it is – isn’t it true that old people like to talk about the past? The good old days! In those days, we did this and we did that; we were like this and you were like that. When my children were young, we had hard copies of their pictures. And obviously, Hannah, being the eldest has the most number of photo albums. In my photo cabinets, there are many photo albums – taken over 4 decades of my life. it’s 4 and not 5 because my childhood photos are so few… some even lost in the flood in my parents’ house.

DSC_8995.JPG

Now, many of my photos are stored in the iPhoto of my mac. Whenever I need some good hormones, I open the folders to look at pictures of the times i spent with my family – the times we had fun together, eating and traveling. I go through the times I spent with my friends – eating, chatting, laughing, singing, and cooking!

 

Be positive (Future)

I like to think that I am an optimistic person. I often expect things to be better or I often ‘hope’ they will be. I picture in my mind what kind of person my future sons-in-law would be. And of course, I think of all the good possibilities – God-fearing, wise, capable of taking care for my daughter.. even good looking perhaps.

I dream of the future when I no longer need to worry about managing a big household – when I no longer dread being maid-less. Yup, it’s a weakness that I am learning to improve on for so many years. I also dream of the day when I will be able to publish my book.

Paul’s secrets to a happy life is found in Philippians. He wrote the book while he was in prison. It’s paradoxical that he taught the Philippians to ‘rejoice’ so many times while he was in prison – not a happy place to be. One secret to being happy is found in Philippians 4:8

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

So dear friends, try it and see how it works miracles. If at first you don’t succeed, try and try until you do. Today is another day to try again.

Leave a Reply

