Praying and knowing God

How well do you know God? Or better yet, how well do you know what God knows about you?

Do you know that these questions can be answered by the way you pray to God? David prayed:

Psalm 139

17 How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them! 18 If I should count them, they would outnumber the sand. When I awake, I am still with You.

What did David know of God?

His omniscience v.1-6: David knew that God knows what he will do, or say. God knows when he will lie down or get up. God knows what he will say even before he thinks about what he’s going to say.

His omnipresence v.7-12 David acknowledged that God is everywhere. God is Spirit who abides with him wherever he goes – he cannot hide from God. God transcends time and space – whether night or day, whether heavens or Sheol.

His omnipotence v.13-16 David knew God’s omniscience and His omnipresence from past, present to future of his life; from his innermost being to each part of his body. God knows David before he was conceived, to the end of his life and every moment in between – all his days were ordained for him.

Beyond his knowledge of God, David counted most precious are God’s thoughts of him, about him and for him.

On this basis, David asked God to search him, to know him even more – in the innermost anxious part of him. David prayed that God check him to see if there is any ‘hurtful’ way so that God will lead him in the everlasting way of truth and light.

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me and know my anxious thoughts; 24 And see if there be any hurtful way in me, And lead me in the everlasting way.

Yes, Lord, search me and know my most anxious thoughts, my worst fears, my weakest desires and anything that will hurt you, hurt others and hurt myself. Lead on, lead me to your eternal light.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

