The higher thoughts, the higher ways

I am learning to love Isaiah more and more. This prophetic book has so much treasures to uncover. This morning here is what I found:

Isaiah 55
6 Seek the Lord while He may be found;
Call upon Him while He is near.
7 Let the wicked forsake his way
And the unrighteous man his thoughts;
And let him return to the Lord,
And He will have compassion on him,
And to our God,
For He will abundantly pardon.

isaiah-55-8-9

8 “For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the Lord.
9 “For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways
And My thoughts than your thoughts.

10 “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven,
And do not return there without watering the earth
And making it bear and sprout,
And furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater;
11 So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth;
It will not return to Me empty,
Without accomplishing what I desire,
And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.

What a comfort to know that God’s Word accomplishes its purpose. I believe God always keeps His promise. What He says, He will do.
I believe God loves me. What He says, what He does, all because He loves me.
I testify to God’s word of honour. His Word does not return to Him empty because His Word feeds my soul; His promises refresh my weary spirit. His Words are true; they quench my thirst – a longing which earthly things do not satisfy.

My mom passed away four and half months ago. My dad followed a week ago. My heart has an empty hole – aching with love and grief at their passing. Yet, in their death, I find God’s warm embrace through His children, my fellow Christians who keep me company. I may not understand fully why God allows so much pain and suffering in the world even to Christians or perhaps more so to Christians. So many diseases, countless deaths, so much violence, hunger, poverty and the list goes on. But I have come to experience that God works out all things (good and bad) for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28) All things worked out

Indeed His thoughts are not my thoughts nor are my ways His ways. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are His ways higher than mine; His thoughts than mine.

Therefore I will continue to seek the Lord while He may be found.
I will call on Him while He is near.
I will forsake my wicked ways and give up my unrighteous thoughts.
I will return to Him – repent of my wrongdoings.
He will have compassion on me.
He will graciously without holding back, forgive me.

What a comfort!

Leave a Reply

