The Comforter

Have you ever felt helpless and speechless going to a wake? I have. I have also witnessed the bereaved comforting the “comforter!” Hubby once went to the wake of a friend’s young daughter. Minutes after sitting beside the friend, he started crying. I can still picture in my mind, the hand of the friend going behind hubby’s shoulder and patting him gently. What a scene!

comfort-me

Job 2:11-13 record for us the profile of what seems to me to be the ideal comforter.

Job’s 3 friends all came from different places and they all made appointment to gather together to comfort him. Don’t we often do this? We accompany each other to wakes.

When they ‘saw’ Job, they ‘raised their voices and wept’. They even tore their clothes and put ashes on their heads. They came, they saw and they mourned.

Then they sat down on the ground with him for seven days and seven nights with no one speaking a word to him, for they saw that his pain was very great.

 

ac7b97d183b9eff7a70fbbed947a649e

And how did Job describe these 3 friends? “you are miserable comforters, all of you!” Read Job 16:2. What happened? It started when they opened their mouths! Read all about their great debates from Job 4-15.

Lessons to ponder…

To mourn with those who mourn is to ‘see’ – to realise how great the sorrow and pain of those grieving.

It is also to be in the ‘shoes’ of those grieving – to feel as they feel, to cry as they cry.

7 days and 7 nights – it’s even as long as the longest wakes I usually hear of. Journeying with others in their suffering takes time – time which is often a luxury for us to offer. More than time itself, what is my attitude when I offer my time? When I am grieving, the presence of a friend holding my hand, patting my shoulders and giving me a tissue to wipe my tears – these are treasures more than words can offer. What motivated Job’s friends? ‘for they SAW that his pain was very great.’ Again, to mourn with those who mourn is to ‘see’.

unknown

And how did Job describe these 3 friends? “you are miserable comforters, all of you!” Read Job 16:2. What happened? It started when they opened their mouths! Read all about their great debates from Job 4-15.

And how did Job describe these 3 friends? “you are miserable comforters, all of you!” Read Job 16:2. What happened? It started when they opened their mouths! Read all about their great debates from Job 4-15.

Lessons to ponder…

To mourn with those who mourn is to ‘see’ – to realise how great the sorrow and pain of those grieving.

It is also to be in the ‘shoes’ of those grieving – to feel as they feel, to cry as they cry.

7 days and 7 nights – it’s even as long as the longest wakes I usually hear of. Journeying with others in their suffering takes time – time which is often a luxury for us to offer. More than time itself, what is my attitude when I offer my time? When I am grieving, the presence of a friend holding my hand, patting my shoulders and giving me a tissue to wipe my tears – these are treasures more than words can offer. What motivated Job’s friends? ‘for they SAW that his pain was very great.’ To mourn with those who mourn is to ‘see’.

Am I willing to sit on the ground to grieve with those in grief? When I feel helpless and speechless, when I ‘SEE’ how great her pain is, then perhaps it’s when my grieving friend gets most comforted!

Lord, open my eyes that I may see.

Leave a Reply

