Fear vs Joy… your choice

What is your worst fear? Mine used to be fear of being widowed. Next came fear of being maid-less. So trivial.. this 2nd one. Am not proud of it… What makes you most angry? Mine… secret…

I am upset when I am criticized especially when I think I did right. It makes me angry when justice is not served – when the right is wronged and the wrong is declared right. When someone hurt me, I could be angry and/or I could be sad. Anger could embitter me. Or I could wallow in self-pity.

One thing i observed from all these emotions – fear, anxiety, anger… they are like prison bars. When i let my anger turn to bitterness, I imprison myself in a state of self-righteousness and/or state of pathetic self-oppression. When I let anxiety overwhelm my every thought, I am in bondage to all negative possibilities and probabilities all for nothing because even as I worry about it, these worries might never come true. Even when I fret, worrying does not solve the problem.

So what to do? What is the antidote to anger, fear and worries? Paul said Rejoice always.

17861785_10155097663820797_3694881956629033791_n

How do we choose joy?  Here’s the formula.

4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Philippians 4

Leave a Reply

